Return Policies For Dummies

(I use to work for a popular clothing store that does not give cash back refunds. I am working as cashier when a lady comes through with a bag of clothes.)

Me: “Hi. How can I help you?”

Customer: “I need to return these.”

Me: “Okay, no problem. Are you aware of our return policy?”

Customer: “Um, no.”

Me: “So, we don’t give cash back returns. You can do either an exchange or get store credit.”

Customer: “What?! No, I want my money back!”

Me: “I’m sorry, ma’am, our return policy is only for exchanges or store credit.”

Customer: “That’s ridiculous! I don’t want a store credit. I want my money back! Why can’t you just give me my money?!”

Me: “The register doesn’t allow me to do that, ma’am. I can only let you exchange these items for something else or give you store credit.”

(The customer is now raising her voice and she’s being to be rude which has gained my manager’s attention. I’ve explained to the customer that there’s nothing I can do about giving her her money back.)

Customer: “I never heard of that being the return policy. Get your manager and have them do it.”

(My manager, who’s been watching, starts to walk over.)

Me: “The manager can’t override it so they won’t be able to give you cash either. When you purchased these items did the cashier happen to tell you about our policy?”

(We are required to ask each customer when they checkout and inform them if they don’t know our policy for this reason.)

Customer: “No. And I don’t care! Now give me my money back!”

Me: “We’re supposed to always ask so I’m sorry they didn’t. Do you mind showing me your receipt?”

(Customer hands me her receipt which has the return policy on the bottom. Looking at it I immediately see that the previous cashier circled the return policy with a highlighter.)

Me: *turning it towards her so she can read it* “Do you mind reading the bottom of your receipt, please?”

Customer: *reads it and when she’s finished, looks up* “Yeah, but—”

Me: “Ma’am, generally before I go to return something to a store, I look at the return policy so I don’t look like an idiot in front of the cashier.”

(The customer turns red as I turn to my manager, who’s trying not to laugh.)

Me: “Can I go on break?”

Manager: “Yes, you can. I was going to help but you clearly had that handled.”

(My manager let me go on break while she gave the customer her store credit return. I could have been written up for it but my manager said technically I didn’t call the customer an idiot, I just implied it, and she was done listening to the lady yelling at me.)

-> Return Policies For Dummies

Leave a Reply

