Where Gun Control Is In Control

(I used to work in the National Recruitment Centre for the British Army, and dealt with a lot of candidates applying to join. I was responsible for contacting candidates to stream them into the correct profession and often received a lot of phone calls with candidates asking me questions. The phone rings.)

Me: “Good morning, this is the National Recruitment Centre. [My Name] speaking. How can I help you today?”

Caller: “Hi. Yeah, I just wanted to ask you a few questions about my application.”

(This is a voice I recognise, and I realise I’ve dealt with this customer before. I do the usual security checks to confirm his identity before I can discuss his application.)

Me: “Okay, thank you for calling. What exactly can I help you with?”

Caller: “I wanted to ask about the basic training when I start.”

Me: “Sure, what about it?”

Caller: “Is it true that the fitness regime is difficult?”

Me: “Well, I’d be lying if I said it was easy. I’ve got an example of the training circuits I can send to you by email, as well as the details of the minimum fitness, if you like?”

Caller: “Okay, that would be perfect. I look forward to receiving it.”

Me: “I will do. Anything else I can help with?” *thinking this is an easy call*

Caller: “One more. When they give us the gun in training, would I be allowed to take it home and teach my kids to shoot with it?”

(This question surprised me. In the UK we don’t tend to just give guns to people for them to keep and have fun with.)

Me: “It’s… not really YOUR gun, sir. It’s not part of the kit they give you to keep.”

Caller: “Oh, that’s a shame. Well, would I be able to bring my own gun to training with me?”

*speechless*

-> Where Gun Control Is In Control

Leave a Reply

