Trying To Get The Measure Of You Early

(I work as a cashier for the summer. I AM fairly new, while my coworkers have been working for a while. It’s a slow Sunday, and a man in his sixties comes into our store. He struggles a while with the bottle deposit machine.)

Me: “Can I help you?”

Man: “It won’t take my bottle.”

Me: “Let me see.”

(I check the bottle, to find that he’s removed the bar code. The machine won’t take it without that. I’m about to tell him as much, but he walks away to do his shopping. I shrug and go back to the checkout.)

Coworker: “He’s trouble.”

Me: “Really? He looks so harmless.”

Coworker: “Maybe, but he constantly tries to provoke us. Just try to stay calm and deal with him quickly.”

(About 10 minutes later, he approaches me.)

Man: “The price on this cake is wrong.”

(He’s holding up a pretty standard, small chocolate cake.)

Me: “Okay? Do you want me to check the price in the registry?”

Man: “Yes.”

Me: *scans the cake* “It says 45 kr.” *about 6 USD*

Man: “See? It’s wrong!”

Me: “What do you mean?”

Man: “It doesn’t weigh 1 kg.”

Me: “No, it feels much lighter.”

Man: “Then the price is wrong.”

Me: “How is it wrong?”

Man: “It doesn’t weigh 1 kg!”

Me: “Do you want me to weigh it for you?”

Man: “Yes!”

(I weigh the cake.)

Me: “It weighs 300g.”

Man: “You see? It doesn’t weigh 1 kg!”

Me: “Yes, I understand that, but how is the price wrong?”

Man: “It costs 45 kr for a kg!”

Me: *hesitantly* “I don’t think that’s quite right.”

Man: “And it doesn’t weigh 1 kg!”

Me: “No, it weighs 300g, but it’s a set price. That cake costs 45 kr.”

(Another customer has started putting his groceries on the belt while we’re talking. The man with the cake turns to him.)

Man: “Feel this.” *hands him the cake* “It doesn’t feel like it weighs 1 kg, does it?”

Me: *politely, before the clearly uncomfortable man can say anything* “No, it weighs 300g.”

Man: *scowls and heads back into the store*

Customer: “Does that happen often?”

Me: “I hope not.”

(When I checked him out later, he didn’t really say much. I didn’t have any trouble with him for the rest of my time working there.)

Trying To Get The Measure Of You Early

Leave a Reply

