A Token Of Understanding

(I’m working the back window. A customer orders $2 worth of food. When she gets to my window she has this very distraught look on her face. After several minutes of digging for change, she holds up a $1 bill.)

Customer: “I’m sorry. I don’t think I have enough money.”

Me: “I’m sorry, but I can’t give you your order until you pay for it.”

Customer: *holds up a handful of change* “Well, I have this token, will that work?”

Me: “Yes, we take dollar coins.”

(She then happily gives me the dollar coin. I try not to laugh as I say:)

Me: “Well, I still need 12 cents.”

(The smile drops from her face as she looks back at her handful of change. At this point I can see another dollar coin and a few pennies:)

Me: “You can use the other dollar coin there.”

(Again she gets really happy, hands me the coin and starts to drive away. I have to stop her to give her her change.)

Customer: “I’m sorry, the tokens really confuse me.”

(I didn’t really know how to respond so I simply say:)

Me: “Yeah, sometimes they confuse me, too.”

-> A Token Of Understanding

Leave a Reply

